Connect yourself with others

Can I encourage you, whomever may be reading this, to just stop thinking about what’s bothering you in your life and be present in this moment, because I have a thought for you.

Have you ever had a friend or family member, possibly even a total stranger, come to you with a heavy heart or difficult decision to make? They sit with you and tell you their situation, every detail is important to them so it’s important to you right? maybe instead of listening to their problem, listen to their plea; now don’t get me wrong, it is important to actually listen to what someone is saying to you but in my experience people don’t want your opinion, or what you would do in their situation, unless they actually outright ask you for it. They need someone to hear their pain, to bounce their thoughts off of open ears, it does make a difference when you are able to talk things through without having the listener pitch in with their ideas, problems or solutions. What they need, in those moments, is empathy; a reciprocating, understanding human.

So please, let me encourage you to listen to those willing to share their inner selves with you, in an age where everyone is on social media, publishing their thoughts, opinions and ideas, maybe it’s the symptom of a society gone deaf, perhaps with all this text we read, our information isn’t able to communicate the emotions that we as humans need to connect, feel and express ourselves with. 
It can be difficult, and I am no saint, I find myself more enveloped in what’s going on in my little gadget of lights and sound, whilst someone is speaking to me, in the distance. This living, breathing, feeling, experiencing, made in the image of God, human being, could be telling me the very desire of their heart, their hopes, their dreams; and I am staring at a screen, scrolling through memes, pathetic!
Please don’t pass up the opportunity to meet the individual, you may come across in your walk of life, each and every one is so significant; here one day and gone the next, thank-you for your time.
just a thought, if you have an opinion you’d like to share, drop me a comment or private message, I would love to hear from you!

Leave a comment